Skip to main content
The '''United Lutheran Church in America''' (ULCA) was established in 1918 in commemoration of the 400th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation after negotiations among several American Lutheran national synods resulted in the merger of three German (language)|German-language synods: the General Synod (Lutheran)|General Synod (founded in 1820), the General Council (Lutheran)|General Council (1867), and the United Synod of the South (1863). The Slovak Evangelical Lutheran Zion Synod|Slovak Zion Synod (1919) joined the ULCA in 1920. The Icelandic Evangelical Lutheran Synod of America|Icelandic Synod (1885) also joined the United Lutheran Church in America much later, in 1942. In 1962, after a five-year merger process, the United Lutheran Church in America became part of the new Lutheran Church in America (LCA). Twenty-six years later, on January 1, 1988, the LCA joined with the American Lutheran Church (1960) and...
share Share
favorite Favorite


TOPIC atoz
up-solid down-solid